Filed in Press

‘Control’ leads BIFA race

from Variety / by Archie Thomas

Anton Corbijn’s Ian Curtis biopic “Control” leads the pack in the race for prizes at the 10th edition of the British Independent Film Awards with 10 nominations.

Next in line is “And When Did You Last See Your Father?” with seven noms. “Hallam Foe” follows with six, “Eastern Promises” with five and “Notes on a Scandal” with four. These five pics contend for the main best British independent film prize.

The five director noms follow the best Brit indie pic noms with one change: Sarah Gavron is nommed for her direction of “Brick Lane” while Richard Eyre (“Notes on a Scandal”) misses out.

The Variety Award for contribution to bringing the international spotlight to the British film industry goes to Daniel Craig. In the past, the Bond topliner has been BIFA-nominated three times, including winning actor for “Some Voices” (2000).

Newcomer Sam Riley, who plays Curtis in “Control,” is nommed in the actor and most promising newcomer categories.

In the former category, he faces competish from Jim Broadbent (“And When Did You Last See Your Father?”), Viggo Mortensen (“Eastern Promises”), Jamie Bell (“Hallam Foe”) and Cillian Murphy (“Sunshine”).

In the running for actress kudos are Judi Dench (“Notes on a Scandal”), Anne Hathaway (“Becoming Jane”), Tannishtha Chatterjee (“Brick Lane”), Sophia Myles (“Hallam Foe”) and Kierston Wareing (“It’s a Free World …”).

A strong foreign indie feature award category sees Dutch WWII drama “Black Book,” Gallic Edith Piaf biopic “La Vie en rose,” German Stasi surveillance drama “The Lives of Others,” Irish musical “Once” and French thriller “Tell No One” battle it out.

Yank thesp David Schwimmer (“Run, Fat Boy, Run”) is nommed for the Douglas Hickox award for debut director alongside Corbijn, Oliver Hodge (“Garbage Warrior”), Marc Francis and Nick Francis (“Black Gold”) and Steve Hudson (“True North”).

Ray Winstone will receive the Richard Harris Award for contribution by an actor.

The jury comprises actors Hayley Atwell, Archie Panjabi, Kathy Burke, Tony Curran, Chiwetel Ejiofor and Matthew Macfadyen; directors Annie Griffin, Menhaj Huda, Neil Marshall and Peter Webber; London Film Festival artistic director Sandra Hebron; producer Mark Herbert; cinematographer Brian Tufano; distributor Will Clarke; and musician Nitin Sawhney.

The noms and jury were announced today at London’s Haymarket hotel.

The awards ceremony will take place Nov. 28 at the Roundhouse in north London.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.